Thursday, June 25, 2020
Professor Thad Dunning and Professor Susan Hyde's (and  Grossman, Humphreys, Hyde, McIntosh, and Nellis') book titled  Information, Accountability, and Cumulative Learning: Lessons from Metaketa I , has been selected as the winner of the 2019 Best Book in Experimental Research by the Experimental Research Section of APSA. The book is a landmark contribution in the methodology of experimental research and provides a new template for cumulative learning across RCTs.  For more infomation about their prestigious award, please see 
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Christopher Carter, a Ph.D. candidate in Berkeley’s political science department, is a winner of the 2020 Best Fieldwork Prize from the Democracy and Autocracy Section of the American Political Science Association.
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Tonight, June 23rd, 2020, across Canada, the CBC will air an episode in their "Ideas" series on Thucydides' powerful account of the plague of Athens, featuring Professor Kinch Hoekstra. A podcast is available here: .
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Danny Choi, a 2018 PhD from the department, has been awarded the 2020 Juan Linz Prize for Best Dissertation in the Comparative Study of Democracy. The prize is awarded by the Democracy and Autocracy Section of the American Political Science Association (APSA). Danny Choi's dissertation examines how electoral geography in democratizing countries can undermine the accountability relationship between voters and their elected representatives.
Thursday, May 28, 2020
We're happy to share that PhD candiadte Anirvan Chowdhury has been award a short term grant from the Program on Governance and Local Development (GLD). THis grant will help Mr Chowdhury continue his fieldwork in India dedicated to his research on 'How do Religiously Conservative Parties Mobilize Women in Election Campaigns? Theory and Evidence from India'.
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
We are excited to announce that sixth graduate Jae Yeon Kim has been awarded the Don T. Nakanishi Award from WPSA. This award is given to graduate student for ditinguished scholarship and service in Asian Pacific American Politics. The title of Mr. Kim's paper is "How Preference Misalignment Challenged Cross-Racial Coalition Building in the West".
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
The Political Science Department is delighted to announce that Varsha Sarveshwar has been chosen as one of 4 finalists for the University Medal. This is the University's highest honor for graduating undergraduate students. The Department would like to congratulate Varsha on this wonderful honor.
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
A few week ago, UC Berkeley and the Political Science Department had to cancel their Spring 2020 Commencement events as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. Then, the University of Blockeley was created in Minecraft. UC Blockeley is the version of the campus built by some very creative UC Berkeley students in the game Minecraft.On May 16th, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. there will be a "formal" ceremony both in the game and broadcast on YouTube and Twitch.
Monday, May 4, 2020
Rachel Strohm, a PhD candidate, recently had her article "A novel idea: integrating urban and rural safety nets in Africa during the pandemic" publish in The Coversation.
Monday, April 20, 2020
In March, at the 2020 Annual Meeting of the Philosophy, Politics, and Economics Society in New Orleans, Dylan Miars, a sophomore political science and global studies double major, presented the paper " Rawls on Majority Rule: A Case Study of Majority Rule as a Philosophical Non-Primitive". Drawing on multiple writings by John Rawls, its basic argument is that claims (that Rawls' conceptions of reflective equilibrium and overlapping consensus are meaningless because they are aggregated from individuals) are mistaken because they misinterpret how Rawls uses majority rule.