APSA’s Elections, Public Opinion, and Voting Behavior section, selected Cecilia Mo's paper, “When do the Advantaged See the Disadvantages of others? A Quasi-Experimental Study of National Service,” for this year’s Best Paper Award. The Best Paper Award is given each year to the authors of the best paper delivered at an EPOVB-sponsored panel at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting.
Francesca R. Jensenius, Senior Research Fellow at the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs, was selected for her research on elections, development patterns, and the empowerment of minority groups and women in India and elsewhere. Jensenius holds a PhD in Political Science from University of California, Berkeley (2013), where she specialized in Comparative Politics, South Asian politics, and Research Methods.
Explore and take classes of interest. Get a head start on the year. Complete prerequisites and upper division requirements for the major. Courses offered during Session A (May 21-June 29), Session D (July 2-August 10) and online during Session C (June 18-August 10)
Assistant Professor Aila Matanock has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the Carol D. Soc Distinguished Graduate Student Mentoring Award for Junior Faculty. Professor Matanock will be honored at a ceremony on April 12, 2018 at 4pm at Anna Head Alumnae Hall.
Professor Robert Powell has been recognized for his outstanding and dedicated service to the campus.
Professor Sean Gailmard's book, 'Learning While Governing: Expertise and Accountability in the Executive Branch', wins The Herbert A. Simon Book Prize for 2017. The Herbert A. Simon prize is awarded to the book with the most significant contribution to public administration scholarship published 5 to 10 years ago.

Upcoming Events


The Charles and Louise Travers Department of Political Science sponsors several lecture series, seminars, and colloquia in conjunction with a few of the University’s research centers. 

We provide helpful resources to find schedules, links to papers, and information about the speakers.


Make a Gift to Political Science