Political Science Students Earn Notable Awards

Travers Department of Political Science undergraduate students Angelo Dagonel and Mazelle Etessami were each named as Charles H. Percy Undergraduate Grant for Public Affairs Research Recipients. Dagonel's project focused on E-Verify and Unauthorized Labor Force Participation, while Etessami's was An Exploration of the Motivations and Mechanisms Behind Non-identity Activism. More information on the Charles H. Percy Undergraduate Grant for Public Affairs can be found here.  Graduate student Neil O'Brian earned the Mike Synar Graduate Research Fellowship for his project 'Mass Opinion and Party Coalition Formation: The Creation of Abortion's Partisan Divide'. The honor is is awarded to distinguished UC Berkeley graduate students who are writing their dissertations on an aspect of American politics, including comparative research across nations with the United States as a major case. Details on the Synar Fellowship is found here.