Public Policy & Organization

Public policy studies explore political responses to specific public problems, like environmental degradation, poverty, or disease. Faculty in this subfield are interested in the political dynamics of policy-making and policy implementation, including such topics as agenda-setting, regulatory decision-making, and federalism. Since public problems often ignore jurisdictions, a policy-oriented approach to political science is often concerned about the interplay between different levels of government (local, regional, national, and international). The Public Policy & Organization subfield therefore draws on, and contributes to, scholarship in urban politics, American politics, comparative politics, and international relations.

Policy outcomes are typically mediated by organizations that mobilize stakeholders, make authoritative decisions, administer programs, and enforce laws. These organizations range from complex government bureaucracies to professional associations and social movement organizations. The organizational and inter-organizational aspects of policy-making and policy implementation are a particular concern of this subfield. Important debates in this field often focus on understanding how specific institutional arrangements are created to govern policy arenas and on whether these institutions produce effective, efficient, and equitable governance.

Sophisticated explanations of policy-making and implementation call for specific analytical tools and intellectual frameworks. This subfield draws on theories of policy-making and implementation, governance, public administration, public law, institutionalism, and organization theory as a framework of analysis.

Public Policy & Organization Directory

Name Research Interests Contact
Sean Farhang Courts, American Political Development, Regulation, Litigation farhang@berkeley.edu
(510) 642-6887
Alison Post Comparative Political Economy, Environmental Policy, Regulation, Urban Politics and Policy, Latin America aepost@berkeley.edu
510 642-1434
Margaret Weir Metropolitan Politics, Social Policy, Comparative Welfare State, Public Policy, Political Sociology mweir@berkeley.edu
510 643-1602
David Vogel Environmental Politics and Policy, Business and Politics, Business Policy, Regulation vogel@haas.berkeley.edu
510 642-5294
Paul Pierson Public Policy, Political Economy, American Politics pierson@berkeley.edu
510 643-6424
Sean Gailmard American Political Institutions, Principal-agent Theory, Bureaucratic Politics, Legislative Politics, Game Theory, Decision Theory (rational choice and behavioral modeling), Laboratory Experimentation, Statistical Modeling gailmard@berkeley.edu
510 642-4677
Mark Bevir Political Theory , Public Policy, Methodology mbevir@berkeley.edu
510 642-4693
Christopher Ansell Public Policy and Governance, Organization Theory, Public Administration, Political Sociology and Social Network Analysis, Western Europe cansell@berkeley.edu
+1 510 642-2263
Jennifer Bussell jbussell@berkeley.edu