American Politics

Subfield Coordinator: Gabe Lenz

The study of American politics at Berkeley brings together faculty and graduate students who seek to tackle the most important questions confronting the field using diverse methodological approaches.

Among other topics, the faculty’s research agenda encompasses the quality and meaning of representation in contemporary American politics, the political implications of rising economic inequality, the politics of immigration and of minority group representation, the meaning of American national identity, the sources and implications of party polarization, the development of American bureaucratic government and of the American welfare state, and the balance of power among Congress, the Presidency, and the Courts. Our program strives to train students to have a diverse methodological toolkit, including quantitative, historical/developmental, game theoretic, behavioral, and institutional approaches.

The Institute of Governmental Studies and Survey Research Center support several workshops and colloquia that foster this diverse intellectual community, including the American Politics Research Workshop, the Positive Political Theory seminar series, the Race, Ethnicity, and Immigration Colloquium, the American Political Development working group, and the Quantitative Methods Workshop.  These research units also provide funding for graduate student research projects and for faculty-student collaboration.  Faculty work closely with students to help each student carve out a research agenda that fits his or her interests, while addressing a substantively important problem.

American Politics Directory

Namesort descending Research Interests Contact
Eric Schickler Congress, American Political Development, Political Parties eschickler@berkeley.edu
+1 510 643-2933
Gabriel Lenz Elections, Public Opinion, Political Psychology, Political Economy glenz@berkeley.edu
(510) 575-9971
Henry Brady Electoral Politics & Political Participation, Management Information Systems, Program Evaluation, Social Welfare Policy hbrady@berkeley.edu
510 642-5116
J. Merrill Shanks Election Behavior, Public Opinion, Research Methodology, Survey Techniques jms@csm.berkeley.edu
Jack Citrin gojack@berkeley.edu
510.642.4692
Jasjeet Sekhon Program Evaluation, Statistical and Computational Methods, Causal Inference, Elections, Public Opinion, American Politics sekhon@berkeley.edu
510 642-1624
Laura Stoker National Elections, Public Opinion, Research Design, Statistical Methods stoker@socrates.berkeley.edu
+1 510 642-3396
Margaret Weir Metropolitan Politics, Social Policy, Comparative Welfare State, Public Policy, Political Sociology mweir@berkeley.edu
510 643-1602
Paul Pierson Public Policy, Political Economy, American Politics pierson@berkeley.edu
510 643-6424
Robert Van Houweling Congress, Political Parties, Voting Behavior, Spatial Models of Candidate Competition, Experimental Methods rpvh@berkeley.edu
510 643-6678
Rodney Hero American Democracy and Politics, Latino Politics, Racial/Ethnic Politics, State & Urban Politics, Federalism rhero@berkeley.edu
510-643-6371
Rui De Figueiredo Institutional Analysis/Formal Theory, Game Theory, Mathematical Modeling, American Bureaucratic Structure and Performance rui@haas.berkeley.edu
510 642-6452
Sean Gailmard Game theory & formal political theory, Principal-agent theory, Bureaucratic politics & executive branch structure gailmard@berkeley.edu
510 642-4677
Taeku Lee Racial Politics, Public Opinion, Political Behavior, Social Movements, Asian American Politics taekulee@berkeley.edu
510 642-4640
Terri Bimes American Politics bimes@berkeley.edu
510 642-4679