Friday, August 21, 2020
Jennifer Bussell has received the Giovanni Sartori Book Award 2020 from APSA's Qualitative and Mixed Methods Section for her wonderful book, Clients and Constituents: Political Responsiveness in Patronage Democracies (Oxford University Press). This award honors Giovanni Sartori's work on qualitative methods and concept formation, and especially his contribution to helping scholars think about problems of context as they refine concepts and apply them to new spatial and temporal settings.
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Congratulations to Sarah Rigney, Varsha Sarveshwar, and Nicholas Shafer, three of UC Berkeley's 2020 John Gardner Public Service Fellows. They have all been placed. 
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
This year the UC Berkeley Department of Political Science was unable to hold our spring commencement ceremony.
Monday, July 13, 2020
Our alumna, Jody LaPorte, who is currently at the University of Oxford, has won the Alexander George Award for the best article developing or applying qualitative methods published in 2019 from APSA's Qualitative and Multi-Method Research Section.  Her article (co-authored with Ezequiel Gonzalez-Ocantos) “Process Tracing and the Problem of Missing Data" was selected.  
Monday, July 13, 2020
Professor Amy Lerman's book Good Enough for Government Work: The Public Reputation Crisis in America (And What We Can Do to Fix It) (University of Chicago Press) has won not one, but two best book awards--the Woodrow Wilson Foundation Award for best book on government, politics and international affairs and the Gladys M.
Monday, July 13, 2020
Guadalupe Tuñón, who received her Ph.D. in 2019 from the political science department at Berkeley, has won the Mancur Olson prize for best dissertation from the Political Economy section of the American Political Science Association 2020.  Tuñón’s dissertation studies the causes and consequences of progressive religion, especially how alliances between progressive leaders in the Catholic Church and left parties have shaped national politics in Latin America.
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Professor Thad Dunning and Professor Susan Hyde's (and  Grossman, Humphreys, Hyde, McIntosh, and Nellis') book titled  Information, Accountability, and Cumulative Learning: Lessons from Metaketa I , has been selected as the winner of the 2019 Best Book in Experimental Research by the Experimental Research Section of APSA. The book is a landmark contribution in the methodology of experimental research and provides a new template for cumulative learning across RCTs.  For more infomation about their prestigious award, please see 
Thursday, June 25, 2020
Christopher Carter, a Ph.D. candidate in Berkeley’s political science department, is a winner of the 2020 Best Fieldwork Prize from the Democracy and Autocracy Section of the American Political Science Association.
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Tonight, June 23rd, 2020, across Canada, the CBC will air an episode in their "Ideas" series on Thucydides' powerful account of the plague of Athens, featuring Professor Kinch Hoekstra. A podcast is available here: .
Tuesday, June 9, 2020
Danny Choi, a 2018 PhD from the department, has been awarded the 2020 Juan Linz Prize for Best Dissertation in the Comparative Study of Democracy. The prize is awarded by the Democracy and Autocracy Section of the American Political Science Association (APSA). Danny Choi's dissertation examines how electoral geography in democratizing countries can undermine the accountability relationship between voters and their elected representatives.