Thursday, October 29, 2020
A new piece by Associate Professor Aila Matnock, & co-author Paul Staniland, is in the latest edition Foreigh Affiars. The piece is titled "The Militarization of U.S. Politics" and you can read it in full by clicking this link,
Friday, September 18, 2020
Professor Aila Matanock published in award-winning online magazine, Political Violence @ A Glance. See full article below: Aila Matanock (2020): WILL THE AFGHAN PEACE TALKS SUCCEED? : Political Violence @ A Glance  
Thursday, September 10, 2020
See full article below : Eric Guntermann, Gabriel Lenz and Alexander Agadjanian (2020): Even With 190,000 Dead, There’s a Lot That Voters Don’t Know: New York Times:
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Fill out the 2020 Census!ABOUT THE CENSUS:
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Professor Susan Hyde's article, "Democracy’s Backsliding in the International Environment" was published in Science, the journal of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.   You can read the full article at
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
In Memoriam Kiren Aziz Chaudhry Associate Professor of Political Science, Emerita UC Berkeley 1959-2020   Kiren Aziz Chaudhry, scholar of comparative politics with a focus on the Middle East, died in her home of a heart attack on June 25, 2020.  
Friday, August 21, 2020
Lindsay Mayka, a Berkeley alumna who is currently on the faculty at Colby College, was the co-winner of the Clarence Stone Award of the APSA Organized Section on Urban and Local Politics, which recognizes young scholars who are making a significant contribution to the study of urban politics. 
Friday, August 21, 2020
Alumnus Nirvikar Jassal won the Sage Best Paper Prize from the Comparative Politics Section of APSA.  His dissertation committee includes Professor Pradeep Chhibber (Co-Chair), Professor Alison Post (Co-Chair), Professor Cecilia Mo, Professor Joel Middleton, Professor Supreet Anand (Economics), and Professor Janaki Bakhle (History). The Sage Paper Award is awarded to the best paper in comparative politics presented at the previous APSA annual meeting.
Friday, August 21, 2020
Alumnus Christopher Carter has won the 2020 Best Fieldwork Prize from the Democracy and Autocracy Section of APSA. His dissertation committee includes Professor Thad Dunning (Chair), Professor Ruth Collier, Professor Alison Post, and Professor Noam Yuchtman (Business). This award is given to the best dissertation on democratization and/or the development and dynamics of democracy and authoritarianism.
Friday, August 21, 2020
Professor Cecilia Hyunjung Mo and Professor David Broockman have jointly won the APSA Elections, Public Opinion and Voting Behavior Section's "Emerging Scholar Award."   This award is given to the "top scholar in the field who is within 10 years of his or her dissertation. Click here for more inforamation.